Skip to content

I’ve Been Scarce

July 5, 2011

I haven’t blogged on here in a long time, and I’ve been pretty scarce over on Flickr, as well as Twitter. The truth is I haven’t even really touched most of my photos in a very long time.  Last week, I was in Yosemite National Park, which was a mind-blowing experience. The park is absolutely amazing – it’s so vast, I feel like you can’t even fit it into your brain.

Of course, I took tons of photos.  But once I got back and started sorting through them, I was just so disgusted with everything. I don’t know if it’s just something I’m going through and maybe if I look at them again in a week or two, they’ll be much better looking to me than my first pass, or if truly, they’re all a bunch of crap.  I’m leaning towards the latter, but hoping for the former.

Within this week, I’ve said a bunch of times to myself and a couple times to others, that maybe I’m not cut out for this photography stuff.  I don’t know.  I’m experiencing so much self-doubt right now.  Thankfully, I’ve learned, through friends on Twitter, that it’s not just me going through this and that (hopefully) I’ll get through it soon and get back to normal shooting.

But at the same time, I think I need to figure out a couple things.  Need to figure out what kind of photographer I am, need to maybe figure out what I’m actually good at and focus on that.  Or not.  Mostly I think I need to think things through.

Here’s hoping I’ll be back on the photo train by next week!
(I may maybe post some of my iPhone photos from Yosemite – I’m actually happier with them than I am with my DSLR photography!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2011 2:22 pm

    Once in a while , having these doubts are probably good, maybe they just indicate that ur not happy with what ur creating at this point and always looking to get better …
    portrait, landscape, nature, street, photographer, no photographer – reflecting back is definitely good. One of the few things that creative arts helps us learn right … 🙂
    hoping u will get thru this quickly and share some of the shots from awesome Yosemite (the place of which I have only heard and awed and yet to visit !!!)

    • July 15, 2011 8:54 am

      Thanks for your words, Sathya! I agree with your thoughts. Hopefully will be sharing a couple of photos over the next few weeks!

Leave a Reply

