Skip to content

Shooting in 2011

December 6, 2011

This year has been a tough year for me, photographically speaking.  I’ve taken a lot less photos compared to previous years (though I’ve taken a ton of iPhone photos so maybe they balance out) just because I feel “it” is gone – it being any sort of vision or feeling or reason to shoot.  I’ve spent weeks being frustrated with what I’ve shot, I’ve deleted tons of photos from various trips, and I’ve spent weeks not touching anything.  In fact, it’s been about 3 weeks since I’ve even opened up Lightroom and processed anything, as evidenced by my lack of updates over on Flickr.

I know a lot of photographers go through this. In fact, I’ve read some inspiring blog posts from some photographers that I really admire, and to know I’m not the only one who feels this way is helpful. But at the same time, I’m not quite sure how to regain that feeling that I’ve lost. I’m not sure how to stop feeling that what I shoot isn’t a bunch of crap. I’ve had so many ideas about blog posts to do here and they’re sort of just… fizzled out. I don’t have the motivation.

I wonder if I just need to suck it up and take pictures, process pictures, and see if that changes anything. It’s probably the best strategy I have for now. Any other ideas appreciated!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 7, 2011 4:11 pm

    Hey Preeti,

    I´ve been wondering where you had gone to. As cliche as this sounds you need to follow your heart and soul. Go where you know you are supposed to go and do what you know you are supposed to do. You may not know this but that just means that you´ve reached a crossroads in your life and it is time for a small change to the daily routine. Maybe do what I do…travel, to clear your mind! haha. Oh and maybe this will put a smile on your face: I´ve included your blog in my list of nominations for the Versatile Blogger Award. Check it out here: http://mytravelmap.wordpress.com/2011/12/07/the-versatile-blogger-award/

    Good Luck,
    Nate

  2. January 5, 2012 6:08 pm

    Hey Preeti,

    I realize I commented on this a while back, and I realize that you may not check your blog very often anymore. But in the event that you still do check on your comments every once in a while, I found this, and strangely enough immediately thought of you hahah.

    I know you really like iphone photography right now. Check out this link, it will bring you to an iphone SLR mount for the iphone camer.

    http://photojojo.com/store/awesomeness/iphone-slr-mount/

    Enjoy!
    Nate

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

